We can trot circles!

I rode at the vacant lot today, by myself, so I have no pictures. Of course, when I have no 6 year old with a camera phone, we have a breakthrough. Thunderkins trotted circles without breaking gate!

I rode him bareback down a residential road the other day. He's as level headed as they come.
I rode him bareback down a residential road the other day. He’s as level headed as they come.

My only goal right now is relaxation. Thunder is such a rock star about riding on the road, near dogs, on the trails, crossing water, you name it. He’s a solid citizen and a trail horse through and through. But he has zero formal training and he gets flustered when he doesn’t understand what’s being asked of him. If we’re just walking along, he’s perfectly behaved. But if I add leg and ask for a trot all he knows to do is canter. He doesn’t have a whole language of aids like better trained horses do and that’s what I’m trying to build with him. He thinks any leg means canter, but today he made major progress and seemed to understand that I want a trot!

The vacant lot. About the size of a football field and perfectly level. Perfect for schooling!
The vacant lot. About the size of a football field and perfectly level. Perfect for schooling!

Up until now it’s gone like this: I add leg lightly, Thunder jumps into a canter, I squeeze the reins lightly and start posting to tell him I want a trot, Thunder trots two steps and then walks. He had two gears- walk and canter. There was no trot button.

Several times today he went into a trot with NO AWKWARD CANTER STRIDES! Woot woot! He even trotted an entire figure eight without breaking gate. That’s progress, y’all!

I bought my gelding a leopard saddle pad. He has a pink halter too. The struggle is real.
I bought my gelding a leopard saddle pad. He has a pink halter too. The struggle is real.

 

Leave a Reply

