2012 Goals

Going into 2012 I will still have two kids at a babysitter which costs me $250 per week. Yep, that’s a mortgage, people. With that in mind, my goals for 2012 revolve around having fun with my horse without spending piles of money.

1. Improve my leg position. Thanks to comments on this blog about my position, I feel like I finally understand where my lower leg is supposed to be. Now it’s a matter of getting the muscle memory to keep it there.

2. Teach Baron to canter relaxed and in control. He gets excited when I let him canter and he gets a bit strung out and hyper. I want him to learn that cantering is no big deal and that he can slow the pace down from “almost to the finish line” to “pleasant romp in the countryside.” I realize a big part of this is teaching myself to relax.

3. De-sensitize and de-spook even further. Since being back at my current barn, I’ve ridden Baron down a residential street and a gravel road lined with fenced- in but very noisy and very large dogs. He’s been a rock star so far, and I want to continue working on relaxing even when there are many spooky distractions, like German Shepherds and stupid people who honk their horns at horses. I want him to be a go-anywhere, do-anything horse and that only happens by going new places and seeing new things.

4. Continue jumping.  I would love to be cantering courses by the end of 2012, but with my limited lesson budget, that may not be realistic. I want to keep doing crossrails and tons of flat work that will set the stage for going faster and higher.

5. Go to a couple schooling shows. I love showing; I can’t help it! I know it’s expensive, but schooling shows aren’t too bad and they’re low pressure. Life’s too short to miss out on doing what you love!

4 thoughts on “2012 Goals

  1. Amy January 10, 2012 / 5:45 pm

    Sound like some great goals! Have fun acheiving them, I have not doubt you will.

  2. Oregon Sunshine January 10, 2012 / 11:13 pm

    Nice goals! I’m sorry, I’m one of those people with the barking dogs behind the fence. My Aussies think they need to herd horses and move them somewhere, anywhere. Maybe they’ll be better after I get sheep…

  3. Jenn January 12, 2012 / 7:34 pm

    Very good goals! I have a suggestion about the cantering thing…study a bit o’ Clinton Anderson…he addresses this very issue very effectively and it WORKS!

  4. Ruth January 14, 2012 / 3:02 am

    Good Luck for 2012!

Leave a Reply

