2011 Year in Review

I am 100% copycatting Amy over at Slow and Steady Smiler by doing this Year in Review. Here are the picture highlights of 2011:

This is one of my favorite pictures of us. He was finally starting to round up and lose the racehorse look. This was in January, about 33 degrees, just warm enough for the snow to melt.

This was at the barn I moved Baron to last winter. This was during the big snowstorm when I braved the icy roads to feed my boy. It snowed several times in Atlanta!?! Wierd, but beautiful.

We moved barns again! I think Baron was happy here, but I didn’t get to see him enough and he kept getting hurt.

Baron got hurt, BAD. He healed up completely within about 2 months, thanks to excellent care from the barn manager.

While Baron was laid up, I rode Roxie in a fun show and won my very first horse show ribbon!

I started learning to jump with John while Baron was healing. It was exhilirating!

When Baron got better, we started training again. He seemed to enjoy the new challenge!

In September we competed in our second show ever and got our first blue ribbon! Oh, how much money and work went into those ribbons!

We moved back to our very first barn and Baron is happy and healthy!

So that was our very eventful 2011. The Goals post for 2012 is coming soon…

4 thoughts on “2011 Year in Review

  1. Oregon Sunshine January 10, 2012 / 9:50 pm

    I was all prepared for snow again this year, so I made arrangements to board the yearling filly I bought this fall in Oregon, where she was purchased from. Instead, Oregon has been hit with a nasty winter, had snow a couple times, and had deep cold instead.

    After all, my first winter in GA was last year, when my hot water pipes froze because the Renai wasn’t well insulated and mounted to the OUTSIDE of the house. I’ve lived in Alaska, where it can get REALLY cold. But, I’ve never had my pipes freeze until I moved to HOTlanta.

    I should have moved my filly here for the winter. *sigh* Maybe I’ll get to start my veggie garden early?

  2. trainingbaron January 13, 2012 / 3:43 pm

    Last year Atlanta’s winter was horrible. I’m hoping not to repeat it!

  3. Oregon Sunshine January 13, 2012 / 5:37 pm

    Oh, it wasn’t that bad! But I’m Alaskan. What do I know? 😉

  4. Allison January 20, 2012 / 7:54 pm

    I am so happy to read about Baron’s full recovery and your show ribbons! And your move back and the arena that is now there, and I enjoyed reading about your family and the horses.

Leave a Reply

