What does a $20,000 horse look like?

I came across this ad by someone I follow on facebook. This grey warmblood cross is advertised for sale at $20,000. I am skeptical to say the least. Please educate me if I’m not seeing it, but this horse does not look like it would be able to fetch $20k, especially in the recessed economy. There’s nothing wrong with the horse, but he is not presented very well!

In the picture he is shown at the walk on a loose rein. He’s not on the bit, nor is he showing much of a topline. I don’t get much of a feel for his movement at the walk. Wouldn’t you think you would get a picture at the trot with all four legs extended or a lively canter shot? Even better, maybe a shot over crossrails or a small jump!

He is listed as a warmblood cross, but there’s no reference to his breeding. I guess some people are suckers for a warmblood, but still, $20k seems like a lot! He is listed as a dressage or eventing prospect, and again, $20k is a LOT of money for a horse that doesn’t know how to do anything!

2 thoughts on “What does a $20,000 horse look like?

  1. Jenn January 12, 2012 / 7:32 pm

    Nope. That’s not a $20k horse, and I’m skeptical that he is even heavy on the warmblood side. He looks a whole lot more TB than WB…I’d say one parent had SOME WB in him/her, but wasn’t full. A $20k horse would be better presented with more professional photographs and more detailed lineage and what he’s accomplished in the show ring to justify the price tag.

    Some people think their horses are worth way, way more than what they would ever be able to get for them. This appears to be the case here, too. Without knowing ANYTHING else about this horse, this one isn’t worth over $5k on a good day.

  2. trainingbaron January 13, 2012 / 3:37 pm

    My thoughts exactly! I paid $2500 for Baron and he looked about like that when I bought him.

Leave a Reply

