We moved!

In an ironic twist of fate, I moved Baron back to the barn he was originally at, the one I left because it didn’t have an arena. You may remember it was owned by an older, somewhat grumpy man named Jack. Jack has since gone to an assisted living home because he was having trouble getting around. His adult children have decided to keep the barn going and they have made a lot of improvements. Jack never liked change, and he never wanted to clean up any of the junk he had accumulated over the years. Now that his kids are in charge, they have cleaned up the junk and made the place much more appealing to boarders. It isn’t the Ritz by any means, but it’s much better than it was.

Best of all, there is a small arena with nice footing. It’s probably a little smaller than a small dressage arena, so not huge, but big enough for me to trot and canter. There are still miles of trails behind the barn as well.

In other interesting news, my trainer left my old barn as well. She is now teaching at a barn within walking distance of mine, so I can ride Baron down there and take lessons in their bigger arena. I can’t really afford it right now, but I have the option in the future.

I didn’t realize how much I missed Baron until now. I have so enjoyed seeing him every day and being responsible for feeding, blanketing and his daily needs. Half the enjoyment of horse ownership for me is the day to day care.  I am so glad to have him back near me!

the arena
4 thoughts on “We moved!

  1. Jenn December 13, 2011 / 5:10 pm

    Looks like a beautiful place! The arena may be small, but you don’t need huge any way…and besides, with trails on that kind of property, who really needs an arena any way?

    Enjoy Baron!

  2. Amy December 13, 2011 / 5:12 pm

    SO happy for you! Sounds like a great situation! I write all the time that it is not necessary to have all the bells and whistles if you get to have that relationship with your horse. You also don’t even need any of it to do training. We may meet our goals slower but we will enjoy doing it and that is what matters.

  3. Ruffles December 13, 2011 / 10:37 pm

    Sounds like a great place – much more convenient than the last one.
    You and Baron will have a lot of fun there.

  4. Oregon Sunshine December 14, 2011 / 7:17 pm

    Yay! Sounds like everything is falling into place!

Leave a Reply

