Horse Names

I love horse names. When I was a kid, I used to daydream about  what I would name a pony if I ever got one.  (I finally did, when I was 29.)  I also used to imagine having a barn full of different colored horses with exotic names. Some of my favorites were:

  • Malabar- for a grey mare
  • Minka- for a black mare
  • Valerian- for a grey gelding
  • Ceylon- for a black gelding, like Ceylon tea
  • Egypt – for a chesnut mare, like the reddish yellow sand in the desert

I love horses named after cocktails. If I had a grey, I would probably show him as White Russian.  I like that it evokes the Russians who sided with the Czar against the Communists. Other cute cocktail inspired horse names are:

  • Kahlua- cute for a bay
  • Bellini- I think that would be cute for a pony, although perhaps inappropriate!
  • Merlot- cute for a blood bay

 I also love historical horse names. Baron’s show name is Queen Anne’s Revenge, after Blackbeard’s pirate ship. I grew up on Hatteras Island, NC, one of Blackbeard’s old haunts. Some other historically inspired names are:

  • Boleyn- like Anne Boleyn, for a gelding. This is what I almost named Baron.
  • Lady Jane Grey- for a grey mare. She was Queen of England for nine days before being beheaded. Maybe not such a good  association!

What are your favorite horse names?

One thought on “Horse Names

  1. Jenn December 16, 2011 / 4:16 pm

    I have an entire notebook of names! I once had the idea that when I started my OTTB rehab business I’d give them all booze-related names: Sloe Gin, Last Call, Tequila Sunrise, Daquiri, Margarita, Martini, Gray Goose, Bailey, Grasshopper, etc. etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

