I miss my boy.

After posting my last post this morning, I was feeling in a funk. I went over to the Loving Cloud blog and saw this post. She talked about hand-grazing her horse while reading her Kindle. It reminded me how much I miss hanging out with Baron. I remember last winter when it was freezing cold, I used to get a hot thermos of coffee, bundle up in ratty sweatpants and Ugg boots and go sit in Baron’s stall with him. After reading that post it was crystal clear to me that I’m not ready to give up on owning Baron.

I’ve got to figure out a way to get him closer to me. Even if I have to give up on lessons and showing for a while, it’s worth it. I miss my boy!

3 thoughts on “I miss my boy.

  1. Ruffles November 16, 2011 / 7:56 am

    Perhaps you can write up a contract and share him with your trainer. That would be a win-win for both of you.

    There’s nothing better than hanging with your horses.

  2. Oregon Sunshine November 16, 2011 / 3:46 pm

    I think you’ll be happy being able to spend more time with Baron. 🙂

  3. Jenn November 16, 2011 / 8:54 pm

    You may have to make the decision about whether you want to show, or enjoy your horse. I don’t take lessons, I don’t show (but I sure would like to) because quite simply, I can either have the horses or I can take lessons and show. I can’t financially do both! Instead, I save up and allow myself ONE 2-day clinic a year with a trainer I really admire and treat it as a “boot camp” for the year. Next week I’m hoping to be able to do maybe one or two very small, unrated, fun shows, just to have fun, not because I care whether I bring home a blue ribbon or not.

    Are we moving forward as quickly as I’d like without a trainer? Oh heck no. But that’s okay with me.

    But you know what? I’m absolutely loving the journey. I love the time I have to spend with him. I love being able to walk out on my deck, have a mug of coffee and watch him graze with his pasture-mates.

    He doesn’t care if he ever shows, he doesn’t care if we ever work with a trainer regularly. He cares if I’m out there scratching his itchy spots, feeding him peppermints and just hanging out with him.

Leave a Reply

