Back in the saddle- oh, wait…

Baron was cleared for riding this weekend and I was so looking forward to saddling up for the first time in a month. A month!!! Oh how my thighs will ache after that first ride! Immediately after I received that good news, I got some bad news. My granny passed away on Saturday. She was the second biggest influence in my life, after my mother, and we were very close. It’s hard to see her go, but I am thankful for the way it happened. She had a stroke and went into a coma and she was dead within a few hours. I would have hated to see her wasting away in a nursing home or having to endure a long hospital stay. She had a full life and died peacefully. We can’t ask for much more. 

I will be out of town for a few days at the funeral, and when I get back, I’ll dedicate my first ride to my granny. She wasn’t a horse person, but she always encouraged me to go after my dreams and horse ownership was one of my most ambitious dreams!

The last picture I ever took of my granny, by her pool with my kids in Florida.
One thought on “Back in the saddle- oh, wait…

Leave a Reply

