Dreams do come true.

I rode in the show on Saturday and it was amazing. Absolutely amazing!  One of the advanced girls at my barn rode Baron in the 18 inch class first and then an hour later I rode him in the crossrail class. This is his second show ever (first one in three years) and his first time jumping at a show. I was so proud of him I could burst. He got two seconds and a fifth in the 18 inch class and in our crossrail class we got one first, one second, one fourth and RESERVE CHAMPION overall!

After our rough lesson on Wednesday, I was worried. I just didn’t want to embarass myself, and I know that I get major stage fright. I’m really into the idea of being a tough mental competitor and I gave myself a pep talk and tried to relax. I do feel that I’ve worked hard and given my all to learning to ride. I kept telling  myself this, and it paid off. I was able to think my way through my classes instead of dissolving into a giant bundle of nerves.

There were three classes in my division, one flat class and two over fences classes, which was nice because we got two tries over the crossrails. I got fourth in the flat class, second on my first crossrail trip, and first place on my second trip. There were six people altogether. I have to admit I was really proud of myself and of Baron. I rode well and he tried so hard. He seemed so eager to please, like he knew we were being judged and he wanted to show off. Overall it was a fantastic day and I was such a proud horse mama!

I didn’t get a ton of good pics, especially of me riding, but here’s a few…

with Bridget in his first class
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Dreams do come true.

  1. Amy September 27, 2011 / 12:39 pm

    Wooohoo team Baron!!! Great job! The hard work is paying off!

  2. Ruth September 29, 2011 / 8:35 am

    YAY!! that’s great! Baron looks so sweet in that last photo.

Leave a Reply

