Jumping Pics

These are from my lesson yesterday, and I have to admit, it was rough! We were fine in the arena but for the last half of the lesson we went outside where we have never schooled before. I’m not sure if it was the fresh air, the change of scenery, or the slightly bigger crossrail, but Baron was EXCITED. I love his enthusiasm; he had ears pricked and gave great effort over the little x’s. But he wanted to canter after every jump and I was not ready for that. It took us about 8 times before we did all 4 crossrails, got our turns and stayed in the trot.

I could tell my poor trainer was getting frustrated. We were just not pulling it together and we looked like even worse greenies than we are. We ended on a good notes though, and I’m confident that next time it won’t be so hard. The actual jumps aren’t hard; I was pretty happy with my position in the pics. It’s the straight approach, not cutting corners and keeping the even pace that are hard to do.

It reminds me of when I first started surfing. Even though I had lived my entire life on an island and been swimming in the ocean since I was three, when I first started surfing, every wave seemed enormous. Everything happens at lightning speed and it’s hard to process when you’re just starting out. This is how I feel about jumping. I am a thinking rider. I have to break it down into pieces. Yesterday I felt like every jump came up so fast and I hadn’t recovered from the shock of actually making it over the first one. Once I did it a few times, I relaxed and my brain turned back on!

This is my favorite one. Not a great position picture, but it's pretty and Baron looks happy.
 
 
 
 
 
I like this one. My heel is down and the line from elbow to bit is almost perfectly straight.
 
 
 
 

A split second later- My chest is up and my heel is still down.
 
 
 
The landing- not sure if I'm doing it right. Feel free to make suggestions!
 
 
 
To keep it real, here's a bad one. This was one of our first attempts and he gave me a BIG effort. It scared the crap out of me and my knee pinched and my heel came up.
 
 
 
My oh my, what a good looking animal!
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

