Work Horses and Show Ponies

I’ve heard it said that there are two kinds of people in the world- work horses and show ponies. I happen to agree with this statement because, in my experience, 20% of the people do 80% of the work. But the statement is misleading. Show ponies work very hard, thank you very much!

Speaking of hard work, my lessons have been going tremendously well.  Baron is moving well, doesn’t seem to be gimpy anymore since he got back shoes on, and the work we’re doing seems to be clicking in his brain. My riding has improved with regular lessons and I feel like we’ve taken a big leap forward in our training. With my position correct, I’m learning what it means to ride him from the front to the back. His head is naturally coming down, and he’s learning how to be “on the bit.”

We’ve been doing flatwork, just ground poles and lots of circles and bending. It’s nothing terribly exciting, but I love it and I’m so proud of Baron. When he comes round and bends around my leg, it’s magical!

trotting ground poles
 
One thought on “Work Horses and Show Ponies

  1. Amy August 19, 2011 / 8:14 pm

    Your position looks amazingly improved in that first photo. So glad you and Baron are progressing so nicely!

Leave a Reply

