Riding Pics

I rode today on my lunch break and got a friend to take some video. I got some still shots from the video which you can see below. I hate watching myself ride. You know how some women hate having their picture taken because they always feel like they look fat? Well, I hate watching video of myself riding because I always feel like I suck. When I watch the video there will be moments of good riding where things start coming together, but overall I feel like I’m still very much an amateur. I don’t have that fluid, natural riding style yet. I realize that takes years to obtain, so I’ll keep plugging away at my trot circles.

As always, feel free to give feedback.

# 1
 
#2
 
# 3
 
#4
 
And the video…
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Riding Pics

  1. Amy June 16, 2011 / 1:41 pm

    I think you guys are looking better! The first half you kept you diagnal right. My suggestion there is to check every single time you start to trot because the more you stay on the wrong one the longer it will take for you to be able to “feel” the right one. What I mean is if you do something right over and over and over again when something feels different you will know. So IMO it is better to look down and check every time than to do it wrong. You guys are progressing and I can tell so don’t be down on yourself for your riding. I just tell myself that I am not hurry to get anywhere so just relax and have fun! The only other thing I will mention is your legs being to far forward. Fixing that alone will make you a much better rider. You will be able to find your balance better, you posting will be easier/better and it will all look so much better just by fixing that one thing. It is a muscule memory thing so it can be hard to know exactly where they should be but if it feels weird then it is probably right. You should be able to draw a straight line from your shoulder down through your hip to your ankle. Just glad to see Baron healing up well and you guys riding again!

    • Jenn June 16, 2011 / 4:47 pm

      You guys are looking better!

      My best advice for achieving that fluid, easy, move with your horse feeling isn’t to ride endless circles…it’s to get out of the arena and just RIDE. No goals, no circles, no expectations: just you and your horse enjoying the heck out of each other.

Leave a Reply

