Kentucky Derby!

Mucho Macho Man and his trainer Kathy Ritvo

Like most horse people and especially Thoroughbred fans, I will have my eyes glued to the TV this Saturday for the Kentucky Derby. If you haven’t picked a favorite, I’d like to draw your attention to Mucho Macho Man. His owners live in Georgia, just like me, and his trainer, Kathy Ritvo, is a woman. If Mucho Macho Man wins, she will be the first female trainer to win the Derby. She has one heck of a story. In 2008 she underwent a heart transplant and was out of the hospital and back to the barn in a mere seven days. She still takes a medicine cabinet full of pills every day, but she is doing well and doing what she loves. They say it takes heart to win the Derby, and this trainer has plenty!

Mucho Macho Man- he's a cutie!
4 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby!

  1. Marissa May 4, 2011 / 10:21 pm

    I’ve got my eye on Dialed In, but this one sure has a great story!

  2. Oregon Sunshine May 6, 2011 / 12:33 am

    You live in Georgia? So do I! Now I’m wondering where?? I hadn’t picked a favorite yet but Mucho Macho Man gets my support as a home-state boy! Go Mucho Macho Man!

    *sigh* Some day, I’ll go see the Derby in person. Maybe in a couple years.

  3. trainingbaron May 7, 2011 / 4:06 pm

    Oregon Sunshine, I live in Kennesaw. Where are you?

  4. Oregon Sunshine May 7, 2011 / 11:02 pm

    I’m down south of the airport in Fairburn. We’re sort of looking around at horse property up north, but haven’t quite committed ourselves to moving/buying just yet.

Leave a Reply

