Who needs lunch?

Today instead of eating on my lunch break, I hauled a$$ to the barn and rode. And boy am I glad I did! We had a quick but fantastic ride. We trotted our first “course” of ground poles. My trainer had all the jumps set with the rails on the ground and she had us ride patterns of different jumps. Granted, they were just poles on the ground, but Baron did so well. He was forward and perky and I felt like he was really listening to me and saying, “What are we hopping over next, Mom?”

I also got in two point at the walk and stayed there for quite a few trips around the arena. Then I dropped my stirrups and practiced sitting trot. My trainer was impressed with my leg strength. A few months ago, my attempts at sitting trot were pathetic. I bounced around like a jackhammer. Now my sitting trot is passable, where before it was hardly identifiable as a sitting trot.

At this point I have to rave about P90X. I freaking love it. I am 8 weeks into the program and I now weigh less than I did when I got married, less than before I had kids, and less than I did in high school. I’m not really worried about how much I weigh though. I wanted to be stronger, and I am. Today I was able to stay in two point faaaaaaaaaar longer than I could before, and I felt tighter in my legs and core. If you want to get results fast, give P90X a try. P.S.- no one is paying me to say that.

One last rave- I am in love with my new saddle. I feel tight as a tick in it. I can get my leg under me without contorting all around. I’ll try and get some riding pics posted soon!

I have the right horse, the right saddle, the right trainer and the right barn. Things are falling into place like I’ve wanted for so long!

5 thoughts on “Who needs lunch?

  1. Barbara April 12, 2011 / 10:54 pm

    That’s a great feeling!

  2. Steph April 13, 2011 / 1:10 am

    I’m only on week 2 of P90X and I’m loving it (except for chest & back, and plyo). I’m glad it’s made such a difference in your riding as I’m really hoping for the same results in mine. 🙂

    • trainingbaron April 13, 2011 / 3:02 pm

      Steph- I’m so glad to hear you’re trying out P90X! I saw results really quickly, within the first 3 weeks. I could tell the biggest difference in my arms at first, but now I can see changes in my legs, hips and stomach too. The vanity aspect of it is great, like looking better in a swimsuit, but I’m more impressed with what it’s done for my riding. I feel like I don’t have any physical limitations on my riding anymore. Keep at it and please keep me posted on your results! It is so exciting when the changes start happening!

  3. Amy April 13, 2011 / 1:32 am

    WOW how wonderful in all aspects!

Leave a Reply

