To show or not to show?

I have previously said that I wouldn’t be showing in 2011. I wanted to save money and spend my time polishing and fine tuning before going into a show ring. B and I have a lot to work on and it makes sense to forget about showing and just practice, practice, practice.

There’s just one problem. I really, really want to show! There’s a well organized hunter schooling show series close by that has adult beginner classes and I want ever so much to attend. The first show is at the end of April. I’m thinking about going. It’s a schooling show and it would be a beginner class, so I’m not expected to be perfect, right? I fear that if I don’t show until I think I’m “ready,” I’ll never get to show. When I ask myself the question, “What do I want to do with my horse?”, the answer is, “I want to go to horse shows!!!”

An added bonus is that the show is putting on a clinic with the judge the day after the show. So I would show Saturday and then do a clinic with the judge on Sunday. My husband may divorce me if I’m gone 2 days in a row with horse-related activities, but what a great opportunity to hear from the judge about our performance and how to improve!

So for now I’m keeping my options open. If our schooling goes well between now and April, I just may find myself trotting around a show ring!

2 thoughts on “To show or not to show?

  1. Amy February 8, 2011 / 6:33 pm

    The way I see it, why wait until you are “ready”? Go for it. If it is what you want to do than do it. We are at the point in our lives that we have put off this dream long enough so why not just go for it. Steady was off the track 5 month and I took him to a small schooling show. You know what? That is just as much practice for them than going in the same ring day after day practicing the same things. They need to learn how to be at a show. They need to know what it is like to go into the show ring. They need all of that. So just think of it as the next step in his training. Not to mention the things you will learn. I went to shows most weekends of my entire childhood but have learned more at the 2 I have gone to as an adult than I did back then. Hahaha I am going to a 4 day clinic and 1 day show this summer so your hubby has nothing to complain about with 2 days ;). But I know how difficult it can be to try to juggle this passion with keeping the husband happy too so I would start preping him now for April. Probably once he sees how much you want to do it he will be ok with it. Now we just need to teach them to be our grooms…lol.

  2. Steph February 27, 2011 / 5:35 am

    You should go for it! Schooling shows are a great way to get feedback from judges and see how your horse will handle showing without having to spend the $$$ of the recognized shows.

    And yeah, you’re not expected to be perfect in any show (well, except maybe dressage). For me and my boy, once I think, “Well, we’ve got this stuff down pretty well, let’s go find out how right we are” is when I’m going to show.

Leave a Reply

