White Christmas

I have so much to write about, and I’ll begin with the good news. We had a white Christmas in Atlanta, the first one since 1880 according to the Weather Channel. I let Baron have a nice roll in the snow before blanketing him. It was colder than he’s used to though and, after some bucking and snorting, he was ready to come in the barn, have his dinner and warm up.

The other good news is that THIS showed up under my Christmas tree:

I’ve started reading through it and I’m impressed. It follows the German training scale and has different exercises to develop each segment of the scale. The introduction to the book says it’s designed specifically for people working without a trainer and when I read that I knew I asked for the right book for Christmas. The book doesn’t progress sequentially; the exercises aren’t in order from beginner to advanced. They’re organized according to the training scale so, if you want to work on looseness and straightness, you would go to those chapters and pick a couple exercises that your horse can do. I’m pretty stoked about working through the book. I’ve already picked out the first couple exercises to try on my next ride. I’ll take a picture of the pages and post them so everyone can see what kinds of things the book has to offer.

Now, for the bad news. My barn owner, who is 76 years old and not in the best of health, went into the hospital the day after Christmas and is still there. There are a couple different issues and his wife isn’t sure when he will be able to come home. I told her not to worry, that I would take care of the barn and the horses until he comes home. This means I’m at the barn at 6:45 a.m. to feed, back to the barn on my way to work to turn out, and back again after work to turn in, feed and do my chores. There is no one else to do it because one boarder lives too far away, one is 15 and has no driver’s license, and one is in South Africa visiting family for two weeks. I’m adding barn management to a schedule that already includes a full time job, a two year old and a baby, two dogs, and a husband. My days are a bit jam packed already. I’m not complaining though. I’m happy to help out and I love being at the barn. The hamster wheel of my life is simply turning a little faster these days!

One thought on “White Christmas

  1. Allison December 31, 2010 / 12:09 am

    It sure is! Good going!! How wonderful, the white Christmas, and the new book. Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

