What a weekend!

The first picture is of my new arena! I moved those panels all by myself this weekend and I have 3 gnarly blisters and a bruise to prove it. It’s small, about 36 ft x 60 ft, but I’m going to add extra panels as soon as I can afford them. I found them for $50 each on craigslist; they’re normally about $75. When it’s complete it should be about 48 ft x 72 ft, which is still smaller than a small dressage arena but it will do. I can take a lesson in it and that’s all I’m trying to accomplish.

The second two pictures are of my cheapskate way to make dressage letters. They cost about $50 in the Dover catalog, so being the extreme tightwad that I am, I found a way to make my own. I bought those plastic “For Sale” signs for a $1 each and a little can of exterior black paint for $4. About 45 minutes later, I had my dressage letters!

The best thing about this weekend is that I MADE something with my own hands. I accomplished something useful. That is what I love about horses. I’m continually making goals and meeting them. It gives me something to look forward to, something to plan for, something to be excited about. What did I do with my time and my energy before I had a horse?

One thought on “What a weekend!

  1. Allison October 21, 2010 / 9:09 pm

    We are do-it-yourself’ers and I LOVE your Arena sign idea! You deserve a big Congrats for building your own Arena and solving that. Very take charge of you! I know how wonderful the barn time is when you have children, though my youngest is now 8 so it’s getting easier…someday they will be taking riding lessons from you, right?! Enjoy them all, kids and equine!

Leave a Reply

