I have options.

It rained this weekend so instead of riding I used the time to go check out a couple barns near my house. I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m either getting an arena at my barn or I’m moving. Getting an arena at my barn will be a challenge. My barn owner has said he will consider it, but he is ever so slow to get anything done and it could be months before he begins building it. I checked out a couple other options close enough to my house that I won’t have to spend too much time commuting or too much money on gas.

The first barn is an eight stall barn on 15 acres. The barn itself is nicer than my current barn- concrete floors and much cleaner. The stalls are typical 12 x 12’s. There is a concrete wash rack and a round pen, but best of all, there is an arena! It’s not huge and it’s grass, but it will work! The owner said everyone at the barn trail rides and I would be the only person with any interest in the arena, which means I would have it all to myself. This barn is more expensive than what I pay now though, and I have to figure out if I can afford lessons on top of increased board.

The second barn is also 8 stalls, but it’s set on 300 acres (so it’s huge!). This barn is also nice, but the real selling point is the arena. It’s a large sand arena with jumps already set up. The icing on the cake is that there is also a dressage arena. I don’t know the cost of this barn yet. I’m waiting for the owner to call me back. There was no one around when I went to check it out.

So the good news is I have options. I just have to figure out what I can afford and how to balance the cost of board and lessons. I am tired of having this dilemma. I’m ready to get on with training my horse. Time’s a wastin’!

Leave a Reply

