Horse Show 1 Week from Today!

I’ve decided to do a hunter schooling show at my trainer’s barn next Saturday. I’m only entering 3 flat classes- equitation, pleasure and under saddle. There is a crossrails class I could enter, but I don’t think we’re ready. We have never jumped crossrails in a proper arena. I am taking a lesson tomorrow with my trainer so I’ll see what she thinks. If she says we’re ready then I will enter the crossrail class as well.

 Oh, and did I mention my trainer is judging the show? She suggested that we enter and the fact that she thinks we’re ready to show makes me think we are.

In other news, I had an amazing trail ride on Baron last Sunday. We went with another boarder at my barn and her Tennessee Walker through the woods all the way down to a lake nearby. Baron was a champ. There were multiple opportunities to spook and he was such a quiet boy the whole time. We got to canter on the wide parts of the trail and through some open fields. It was so exhilirating! Baron loved being able to let loose and canter. He whinnied and pricked his ears and I could tell he was really enjoying himself. We went farther away from the barn than we ever had. When we ride alone he doesn’t like to get too far from the barn, but I think having a friend gave him confidence.

Fall is my favorite time of year to ride. We finally get some relief from the ridiculous heat in Georgia and the leaves are starting to turn. It’s such a pretty, pleasant time to ride.

Leave a Reply

