I’m rethinking my approach.

I think the universe may be sending me a message. The last two shows I’ve tried to do have (for very different reasons) not worked out. Baron went lame right before the one in June and this time I was an idiot and did not get his Coggins updated in time to show on Saturday. So twice in a row I have been over the moon excited about showing and had my hopes dashed. I’m starting to think I should forget showing for the rest of this year and focus on riding with that extra time and money. Maybe I can start showing again next spring after another winter of riding as much as possible.

With this in mind, I called my old trainer, Mary, who I haven’t had a lesson with since last Thanksgiving. I would like to start taking one lesson a month with her. I only have time for one a month because it’s such a hassle to trailer off to her barn. My kids are just too demanding right now to leave them for very long.

I’m looking forward to starting the lessons again because I feel like I’ve hit a wall with my training. I’ve done about all I can do on my own. I need help at the canter and I need someone to help me progress into jumping. I’m really excited about this next step in our training!

One thought on “I’m rethinking my approach.

  1. Katherine July 28, 2010 / 9:45 pm

    I am looking forward to you writing about your lessons. Having lessons with an instructor is one of the things that I truly enjoy when riding my horses. Sadly they are in a retirement facility. So it will be good to read about your progress instead. Hope that all goes well. Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

