No show this weekend.

In getting ready for the show, I got Baron’s Coggins test out to make sure it hasn’t expired. Well, guess what? It HAS expired. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah! It will cost me over $100 to have a Coggins pulled by Saturday. It would have to be overnighted to the lab and overnighted back. SUCK!!!!! I can’t justify spending an extra $100 to go to a schooling show that isn’t even specifically for hunters. As much as I want to go, I just can’t justify spending the money. So again, I will not be showing. This is really starting to piss me off. I can’t believe I didn’t get this taken care of earlier. Grrrrrrrrr…..

2 thoughts on “No show this weekend.

  1. Bridget Fahey August 9, 2010 / 9:03 pm

    Sorry for delay in leaving a comment and that you didn’t get to show. I would look at that as sign from above that showing with new barn will be a better fit for you. My 2nd show a success. It was 7/24 & 7/25. I didn’t have a lesson for a week before the show due to hot weather, missing a shoe and fact that I have to work for a living! My trainer was person that put on this show. Which means she is extra busy days before show getting ready and days of show managing things. Not a good combo for a 46 yr old rider that needs a lot of hand holding. But it all worked out ok. Day 1 beginner ring was outdoors & supposed to start at 9.30am. Didn’t start until 11am and it was 95. I was cranky & so was my horse! Day 1 was 2 2nd place, 1 3rd place, 1 4th place & 1 6th place. Ribbons are awarded for 1st – 6th place. I’m guessing 12 were in my division. 3 gals my age & rest kids. Heavy rain Sat eve made outdoor ring unusable on Sun so had to use indoor ring with low med & high jumps set up. It was chaos. I would ride 18” then someone would do Intermediate 2’3 then another beginner then a low hunter 2’. Sunday I got 2 1st place, 1 2nd place, 1 3rd place and 2 4th place. I was named Champion in my division (you get fancy multi colored ribbon) because I had most points in my classes/division on Sunday. I’m proud of myself and my barn friends were very happy for me. I’m still trotting over and cantering out like show #1. I went deep into corners and was straight over jumps which is easier for adult to accomplish than 8yr old girl. I think that helped with my score. Fun time and funner when you win. I’m still trying to justify the $400 entry, stall, trainer, hauling fees for the 5 min of glory. I’m taking a step back in Aug & only riding weekends in morning due to high temps here in Kansas. I’m not planning on another show until late September or October. Looking forward to reading about lessons with your new trainer! Stay cool!

  2. juliaeverheart August 9, 2010 / 9:50 pm

    WOW! Champion of your division? That’s fantastic!
    Thanks for the comment about looking at my situation as a sign that I’m supposed to show with the new barn. I think you’re right! My trainer is actually judging a schooling show they’re putting on in September and she told me I should definitely do that one. So that’s what I’ll be looking forward to! Maybe I can be like you and actually WIN something!

Leave a Reply

