Show Names

Horse names are fantastic, especially racehorse names. The best horse name I ever heard was actually a pony called “Daddy’s Last Dollar.” I thought that was hilarious. Baron’s race name was Storm Ballad. His dam was Storm Threat and his sire was Concerto, so I guess they came up with a combination of the two.

I’m trying to decide if I should show Baron under his racing name or his barn name. I’ve heard that it’s a good idea to show ex-racers under their racing name so that previous owners and trainers can keep up with them if they’re so inclined. That would be my only motivation to show Baron as Storm Ballad. I’m not crazy about the name and to me it represents his old life.

I could show him as Baron, but most horses’ show names are long and formal and I’m afraid Baron is not quite flashy enough for the show ring. A friend of mine suggested coming up with a whole new show name. Her horse had a crappy racing name, not cool at all. His barn name is Chase so she shows him as Chasing the Dream.

I like the idea of coming up with a whole new show name. I’m thinking Queen Anne’s Revenge. It was the name of Blackbeard’s ship and it references Anne Boleyn, who is my favorite historical figure. (I’m really interested in all of Henry’s wives, but Anne is the most fascinating.) I always thought it was a cool name for a horse.

So what do you think? Should I show him as Storm Ballad, Baron or Queen Anne’s Revenge?

Leave a Reply

