We’re going to the show!

I have decided that we are going to the show, bald spots and all. You may think I’m crazy, but I worked so hard this winter trying to ride as much as I could and really improve. I loved the show I went to last year and I looked forward to show season all winter long. So I’m not going to let a little bald patch get in the way of my dream. This is something I’ve wanted to do since I was a little kid and I’m loving every minute of it!

Here are my goals for the show:

1. Have FUN!

2. Don’t let my nerves get the best of me. Last time I was so nervous I was literally shaking. I got there late, had to tack up and change at lightning speed and I missed the warmup. It was my first show EVER and I had no idea what to expect and I definitely let my anxiety take over. This time I’m going in with a whole different attitude. It should be fun, not stressful. I have my job and my two kids to stress me out. I show for enjoyment!

3. Be on time. I’m leaving myself waaaaaaaaaay more wiggle room the morning of the show to deal with anything unexpected. I’ll get there in plenty of time to tack up at a leisurely pace and get a nice warm up in.

4.  Ride better than last time. Like I said, my nerves totally took over at the last show and I rode like absolute crap. I came in LAST in equitation. How completely embarassing. This time I will relax and put to use all that I practiced this winter. I’m not expecting a blue ribbon (or a ribbon at all) but I want to know that I rode to the best of my ability. I highly doubt that we will win anything simply because Baron looks so shabby. I doubt the judges will look past that. 

A side note on the subject of ribbons: The thing I want more than anything in the world is a ribbon from a horse show. I go to bed at night dreaming of horse show ribbons. Blue, red, yellow, pink; hell, I don’t care if it’s puke green. I just want a ribbon from a horse show. I have since I was old enough to know that such a thing existed and could be won. So if by some freak chance my bald-patched horse and I manage to win a ribbon (I’m told they pin to 6th place) , I will officially be the happiest person alive on this planet. I could potentially be the happiest person alive on ANY planet.

2 thoughts on “We’re going to the show!

  1. Bridget June 16, 2010 / 2:46 am

    I did my first show in 33 yrs a few weeks back. I’m still glowing. I’m so proud of myself because until I got on that Sat morn I had every intention of backing out. I was so worried the weeks before about riding my horse 8yr old TB outside and the sand footing. He was fine! And I was too. Most of my competition were 8 yr old little girls luckily for me there were a few gals my age in my classes. You say you want a ribbon but I never even went to office to see where I placed. I truly don’t care at least for that show. At 46 I rarely do anything I don’t want to do or that is scary but I’m proud of myself for competing. Good luck with your show! Can’t wait to read about your experience. Sorry for the long post!

  2. juliaeverheart June 16, 2010 / 1:44 pm

    Good for you for getting out there and going for it! I’ve only done one show so far and I was the same as you, competing on a TB against 8 year olds on ponies. It was humbling as I got soundly beaten by all of them, but so much fun nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

