How to Treat Rain Rot

My current mission in life is to defeat rain rot. I’ve done some research online and I thought I would post the more helpful articles here in case anyone else is fighting the evil rain rot monster.

http://www.equusite.com/articles/health/healthRainRot.shtml

http://www.frontrangefrenzy.com/horsecare/rainrot.html

http://www.netpets.com/horses/healthspa/rainrot.html

Some of the articles had conflicting information. Some said don’t pick at the little bumps; others said you have to brush the bumps off in order to expose the bacteria to oxygen. Rain rot thrives in low oxygen conditions, so the more dry air you expose it to, the faster it will heal. Brushing the bumps off makes more sense to me even if it takes the hair off with it.

So here is my plan of action:

  • Curry comb Baron really well and remove as much of the loose, infected hair as possible.
  • Bathe him in Betadine, which is an anti-microbial. Lather it up and let it sit for 10 minutes, then rinse.
  • Do this for 7 seven days in a row. At that point the bacteria/ fungus should be gone and new hair should be able to grow.
  • Also, I work full time and have 2 kids under age 2, so if I’m not able to give him a bath one day, I’ll spray him down with listerine instead. It’s better than nothing.
Leave a Reply

