You know Spring is coming when…

Your horse is losing clumps of hair when you groom him! I didn’t give Baron a bath this weekend, but I did groom him pretty well, especially his legs. When I went over him with the curry comb, big puffs of hair and clouds of dust were coming off. He hasn’t had a bath in months and he is sooooo dusty. His coat is so full of dust that it doesn’t have a lot of shine to it. His legs had thick Georgia clay caked on and I got most of it off, although his white socks remain a dull shade of orange. Lovely.  And it’s not like I don’t groom him! He gets brushed really well at least once a week, but when a horse rolls as much as mine does, there’s no getting him clean without a good ole fashioned bath.

On a better note, his weight gain is evident when I groom him. He used to swish his tail and pull his ears back when I used the currycomb on him. He was so bony, I’m sure it was uncomfortable, especially over his ribs. He’s fattened up enough to where he doesn’t seem to mind the curry comb. No ear pinning and no tail swishing. Yay!

2 thoughts on “You know Spring is coming when…

  1. Jenn March 9, 2010 / 5:04 pm

    I have a gray and no matter how much I groom him during the winter he still has a dirt-colored tinge to him.

    I spent a good hour or so grooming him Saturday, spit, shine and elbow grease (still too cold to bathe) lifted TONS shedding hair. He looked pretty good for a fuzzy guy!

    And as soon as I turned him loose in his paddock he found the muddiest spot and rolled and rolled and rolled. *sigh* Just can’t win!

  2. juliaeverheart March 9, 2010 / 10:45 pm

    I love grays, they’re my favorite! I actually had my heart set on a gray when I started shopping for a horse. Then I saw Baron and he was perfect in every way except that he’s a chestnut and the rest is history.
    I’ve heard that a horse’s love for rolling is directly proportionate to the amount of white they have. The more white, the more he’ll love to be dirty. I would say that’s true of all the grays I’ve ever known!

Leave a Reply

