myhorse

I just found a great article over at www.artisticdressage.com. Here’s the link:

http://www.artisticdressage.com/blog3-17-09.html

I laughed out loud when I read that at the Spanish Riding School riding around arbitrarily is forbidden, meaning that you’re supposed to ride your horse on a circle or in a straight line. I laugh because when I’m riding in the arena and really, really concentrating, sometimes I forget to steer. At my last lesson Baron started coming off the rail into the middle of the arena and I didn’t correct him because I was so focused on keeping him on the bit and moving nicely at the trot. Well, he trotted aimlessly right into a jump standard, stopping  just short of  hitting it. My trainer and I cracked up and I said, “I didn’t think he would run me into a pole!” Mary said, “You have to be the leader! He’s looking to you to tell him where to go!” Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

