I drank the Kool Aid. And it tasted bad.

I watch all the training shows on RFD-TV, and my favorite is Parelli Natural Horsemanship. For those of you who aren’t familiar, the Parelli method is gentle and non-domineering. It focuses on building trust between you and your horse.  The Parelli system has 4 Levels and you can audition to pass each level. You send in a video of you working with your horse and they officially give you a pass or fail grade. I like the clear cut goals of they system and having an easy way to measure your progress. I am very goal oriented and the method really appeals to me.

So I decided to join the Savvy club, which is $20 a month and gives you access to the top secret Parelli website. I was stoked to join, thinking that I would be able to get started immediately training my horse with the Parelli method. I thought the website would give me the tools I need. Not so much. Once I started looking through the material about progressing through the Levels, I realized I would have to buy $500 worth of DVD’s just to begin!!! And that’s just the first 2 levels! The further you progress, the more you have to buy.

I realize everyone has to make a living, and that Parelli’s system has done a lot of good for a lot of horses. But I flat out can’t spend that kind of money. At this point I would rather spend that money on lessons and improving my riding. I feel that I have a great relationship with my horse and I plan to continue with the ground work using the things I’ve seen on Parelli’s show.  We definitely have room for improvement, but I can’t spend $500 on DVD’s!

I will be cancelling my membership. Maybe at some point in the future I’ll rejoin, but not right now.

Leave a Reply

