Two Hour Trail Ride and a Water (well, puddle) Crossing!

DSC02732

My barn friends and I went for a two hour trail ride on Saturday. Last time I only got to ride for 10 minutes because I had my baby with me, so it was a real treat to get to ride for so long. The trail runs through some open pastures and some wooded areas. The pastures are wide open with even ground and they are great for letting the horses run and blow off some steam. I kept Baron to a trot because I’m still nervous about cantering and having him take off. He would probably do fine; I just have to work up a little more courage!

DSC02714

At one point we were trotting and the other horses started to canter. Baron cantered a few strides and then gave a teeny little buck, I think from excitement. I reined him in and he settled back down to a trot. I’m looking forward to the day when I can confidently canter with him and be fairly sure that I can control him. When that day comes, I want to do a hunter pace!

DSC02709

As I’ve said on here before, Baron thinks mud puddles eat horses. He does NOT like to get his feet wet. Brooke, the black paint, has the same issue. We ran into a sloppy part of the trail with puddles and mud and it took about 5 minutes, but we did get the horses to cross. Gary had to dismount and lead Brooke across, but when he did Baron followed immediately. The more exposure he gets to this sort of thing, the more versatile he’ll be.

Rumble and the Flowers
Rumble and the Flowers

I am so proud of him. He is becoming such a fun horse to ride- easy going and calm with a cheerful, happy demeanor. I am still convinced that he is the perfect horse for me!

Leave a Reply

