So Now I Want a Western Saddle.

3 Pretty Ponies in the trailer
3 Pretty Ponies in the trailer

On Saturday my barn friends and I trailered to a trail super close by and had a fabulous time. I had to work in the morning, so they took my horse and rode him until I got there. By the time I arrived, he was lathered up and calm as could be, happy to follow along with no antics. My friend Gary, who rode Baron until I got there, said he was a perfect gentleman. He had no idea where the barn was, so he couldn’t run back to it!

Tacked up in Western gear
Tacked up in Western gear

I’m lucky to have a friend with a trailer, and lucky that he loves my horse almost as much as me.  These little outings are slowly turning Baron into a calm, reliable horse I can have fun with. The more experience he has with trail riding, trailering, and being exposed to different environments, the more well rounded he becomes. I was so proud of him on Saturday. Gary’s two horses, Brooke and Rumble, both had little episodes of cow kicking and bucking, but not Baron. He was cool as a cucumber.

Standing politely by the trailer.
Standing politely by the trailer.

So I’m not thinking of switching to Western Pleasure or anything, but I did enjoy trail riding in a Western saddle. I did buy a Western bridle with a curb chain, which Baron wore on Saturday and did very well in. I bought it specifically for trail riding, and now I’m thinking I want a Western saddle too. Nothing fancy, just something to beat around the trails on. I’ve been looking on Craig’s List for a cheap one, but haven’t found the right one yet. Will keep you posted.

Treats after the ride.
Treats after the ride.
Gary gives Baron a bath.
Gary gives Baron a bath.
Leave a Reply

