Injury

We’re not sure how he did it, but Baron managed to mangle his leg up pretty bad in the pasture today. He has several small cuts and a long, deep cut on his right rear leg. I can tell he’s in a lot of pain because he isn’t eating his hay and he’s lethargic overall. I’ve been spraying Banixx on the wound and today the vet is coming out to sedate him and wrap the wound. It’s clear that I won’t be able to ride for quite a while, but I don’t even care. I’ve learned that I enjoy having a horse regardless of whether I can ride. Don’t get me wrong, I do love to ride and hope eventually to show, but I love Baron and I’m committed to him as an individual and not merely as an athlete. God forbid that anything should happen that would make him lame forever, but if it did, I think I might keep him instead of trying to sell him and look for a ridable horse. Please God that nothing happens to him though, because I love to ride!!!

Leave a Reply

